Thursday, September 2, 2010

Ovarian Cancer Awarenwess Month

I was alerted through a Facebook message of the post below.  This is GREAT information if you are a woman or have a woman in your life you care about.  Please pass it on, it could save a life!

September is Ovarian Cancer Awareness month and tomorrow, 9/3/10, is Teal day (show your support by wearing teal).

Here are some statistics; Ovarian Cancer is one of the most deadly of women's cancers. Each year, approximately 21,880 women will be diagnosed with ovarian cancer. In 2010, approximately 13850 women will die in the United States from ovarian cancer. Many women do not seek help until the disease has begun to spread, but if detected at its earliest stage, the five-year survival rate is more than 93%. Recent research suggests that together the four symptoms of: bloating, pelvic or abdominal pain, difficulty eating or feeling full quickly and urinary urgency or frequency may be associated with ovarian cancer.

What Is Ovarian Cancer?

Ovarian cancer is cancer that develops in the ovaries. The ovaries are part of a woman's reproductive system. They are located in the pelvis on either side of the uterus. Each ovary is about the size of an almond. The ovaries make the female hormones progesterone and estrogen and release eggs into the fallopian tubes.

Cancer begins at a cellular level. Normally, cells grow and divide to form new cells. These new cells take the place of old cells as they die. Cancer cells continue to grow and divide. These abnormal cells continue to create new cells forming a tumor.

Stages of Ovarian Cancer

The four primary stages are:

     Stage I: The cancer is completely contained within the ovary or ovaries

     Stage II: The cancer is in one or both of the ovaries and has spread to
     additional organs located in the pelvis such as the bladder, colon, rectum
     or uterus.
     Stage III: The cancer is in one or both ovaries and has spread to one or
     both of the following: the lining of the abdomen or the lymph nodes.
     Stage IV: The most advanced stage of cancer. The cancer has spread from
     one or both ovaries to additional organs such as the liver or lungs, or there
     may be cancer cells in the fluid surrounding the lungs.

     Recurrent: The cancer has returned after successful treatment.

*The four stages of cancer are also divided into sub-groups

No comments:

Post a Comment